Mohamed Salah scores 200th goal for Liverpool

December 11, 2023

Mohamed Salah scored his 200th goal for Liverpool and 150th in the Premier League against Crystal Palace.

Mohamed Salah scores 200th goal for Liverpool

The Egyptian equalized in the 76th minute at Selhurst Park after Liverpool had fallen behind to a penalty by Jean-Philippe Mateta earlier in the second half.

Curtis Jones got on the end of Cody Gakpo’s cross to set up Salah’s goal, with his effort taking a cruel deflection off Nathaniel Clyne. Harvey Elliott would add a second to the total time.

He joined Ian Rush, Roger Hunt, Gordon Hodgson, and Billy Liddell as the fifth player in Liverpool history to reach 200 goals.

Salah has 14 goals in all competitions this season, with 11 of them coming in 16 Premier League games.

He also becomes the 11th player in Premier League history to reach the 150-goal mark, with two of those goals coming for Chelsea.
Former Liverpool players Michael Owen and Robbie Fowler are among those named, as are Jermaine Defoe, Frank Lampard, Andy Cole, Wayne Rooney, and Alan Shearer.

Sergio Aguero and Thierry Henry are among the most powerful strikers, while Salah and Harry Kane, the second-leading Premier League goalscorer of all time, are the only active players with at least a century and a half of goals.

Mohamed Salah | The Pride of Liverpool

Salah has been a revelation for Jurgen Klopp since joining from AS Roma in the summer of 2017.

The 31-year-old scored 19 goals to help Liverpool win their first Premier League title in 2019/20 and was instrumental in the Reds’ successful Champions League campaign in 2018-19.

He scored five goals as Liverpool advanced to the final against Tottenham Hotspur in Madrid, including a second-minute penalty that gave Klopp’s team a 2-0 victory.

Salah has won three Premier League golden boots, the first in 2017/18, when he set a career high with 32 goals in a single league season in his return to the English top flight.

With 22 and 23 goals, he tied for second and third in 2018/19 and 2021/22, respectively.